Tags

,

A new day and a new finished  top to present. This time Simplicity 1716, long sleeved and with a draped neckline. I love necklines with different kind of draping! 

Image

When I found this fabric I know it would be perfect for a top with simple lines in itself. It is again a rayon-spandex blend fabric. It’s an interesting animal print with a mixture of leopard, snake and crocodile – what I can tell –  which makes it interesting. I love the pink in it.

Image

With this interesting print I wanted to utilize it well. Therefor I studied the fabric piece carefully to find the most interesting place to put the pattern pieces. I ended up putting the front piece on a ridge in the snake pattern being very careful where I put the fold.

Image

 At fist I tried to find reoccurring print sections in order to get identical sleeves. But I ended up leaving the sleeves and the back pieces more to chance as to avoid a too symmetric look. However, I don’t think that would have been a possibility with this print ;-)

ImageImage

This is again the end result, the front and the back. The back has a central back seam instead of being cut out on the fold. It seems like Simplicity often do central back seams with a slight indent in the small of the back.  

Image

Image

I see myself wearing this top with all sorts of things, everything from jeans to pencil skirts and trouser suits. It will give interest to any outfit. Yesterday I wore the top with black skinny jeans, a plum cardigan and black boots. 

Happy sewing everyone!

Annika

