Tags

, , , ,

Image

I love the elegance of french style and I adore Chanel. Therefor I got very exited when I saw that The Challanging Sew and Thewallinna are hosting a sewalong for “the little French jacket”, or the Chanel-jacket as it might also be refered to.

Here are the links to the introduction posts for the sewalong:

I have decided to join the sewalong which officially starts October 6 with the first sheduled sewing post. But to prepare I have looked at some patterns and fabrics and made some choices.

For the pattern I have chosen Vogue 7975 which is one of the recommended patterns. I like to make a jacket that meet in the front but do not overlap. I’m thinking of hook and eye fastenings in the front. For fabric I went to the Linton Tweeds website. Linton Tweeds being a British fabric mill with long traditions, among other things being a supplier of boucle fabrics to Chanel for their tweed jackets. So perfect! From Linton Tweeds I ordered 3 yards of a metallic gray wool boucle. I hope that will be enough for both a jacket and a skirt. I was looking for a fabric that would go well both with black and with blue without being neither black or blue. The metallic gray here stood out for me.

Image

Once I’ve gotten the fabric I will look at silk charmeuse fabrics for the lining and at trims.

Is anyone else going to do this sewalong?

Happy sewing!

/Annika

