Tags

, , ,

I have yet to show you my version of the Vogue V8825 dress. When I first sew this pattern I immediately fell in love with it because of the nice draping and front wrap. The Raglan sleeves gives it an interesting touch. I looked, and looked to find a fabric to go with it and then finally found a blue, white and black printed rayon knit. I also choose a contrasting solid black rayon knit for the tie and the sleeve cuffs.

Image

2013-12-26 19.42.57

Me in a kimono in Japan 1998

The combination I think gives the dress a kimono-inspired look. as a young student I went as an exchange student to Japan. An amazing experience overall. One specific thing i got to experience there was to get dressed and done up in a traditional kimono and a geisha makeup and hair. Wow, how many layers of skirts and wraps there was to put on before the beautiful outer kimono was put on. I say “was put on” sins the layers were wrapped so taught and tied that you could not put them on yourself. Then there was the big wrap and bow around the midsection. Everything was so tight and I now understand why women in traditional japanese attire can only take tiny steps.

This dress is not as tight but it reminds me of the silhouette of a kimono. it has a quite long tie which can be tied either on the side or in the back. I prefer to tie it in the back.

VOGUE 8825

I extended front wrap a couple of centimeters in each direction on order to cover the bust more. Otherwise I kept pretty much to the pattern and instructions.

2013-12-20 15.39.42

2013-12-20 15.43.27

2013-12-20 15.44.04

2013-12-20 15.44.51

I finished most of the seams with a French seam. I’ve said it before, but I LOVE French seams in jersey. They give a luxurious finish, stabilizes the dress slightly and strengthen the seams. It feels very good to wear.

2013-12-20 15.47.49

French seam finish

The only issue I have with the dress  is that the ties tend to be heavy in relation to the fabric. Now I used fabric two different fabrics but they were of approximately the same weight. As you can see on the picture below there is a tendency for the tie to stretch the bodice out of shape when not tied and hanging straight down. This is something I have to keep in mind while storing and putting the dress on.

2013-12-20 15.45.54

Here you can see how the ties weighs down the bodice.

I really love this dress and ended up wearing it on Christmas Eve, which I spent at my parents house. Here you can see me in the dress in two poses.

VOGUE 8825

 

2013-12-24 13.40.16

Happy Holidays!

 

Sending you all my love this holiday season. Until soon.

/Annika

