Tags

, ,

image by Annikas76
image, a photo by Annikas76 on Flickr.

Right now I am working on a midnight blue shealth dress with long sleeves. The pattern I am using is McCall’s M5927, which I think they have discontinued by now. This dress have been on my todo list even since I started sewing 2 years ago.

The fabric is a nice wool (YSL or something like it) with a bit of sheen. I’m trying to apply the couture techniques I have picked up. As you can see I for example have an silk organza underlining which I have treated as one with the wool and tread traced the seam lines on with hand basting. Today I hand basted the darts and some of the seams together to prepare to do some work on the machine tomorrow. However, I am still pondering the benefits of balancing the darts. I haven’t tried that technique yet but is it worth the effort?

Happy sewing
/Annika

