Tags

, , , , , ,

I’m so sorry! I’ve been neglecting this blog and you all.

However, I have been sewing and working on a couple of different projects. One larger one – a skirt suite using couture inspired techniques – which I will write about in a separate post and a couple of more tops. My favorite!!

The first top I made from some of the beautiful fabric I had left over from the making the Simplicity daydress. It’s this flattering sleeveless top made with Simplicity 1716, the same pattern I used for this top. The first version I found to be slightly to large so I just folded a 2 cm off of the original pattern front and back pieces making the top overall 8 cm tighter. For a sleeveless version this is perfect and it is very flattering over the midriff, as you can see below on my new friend Valery. The top as super easy and fast to do. I finished it in a day, cutting included. Β Β DSCN1070Here you can also see some of the details and lines. I have already worn it to work – under a navy blue pant suit – and gotten some complements on it. One sweet colleague and friend even asked if she could commission me to so something similar to her. We’ll see.πŸ˜‰

2013-04-21The second top is a spring inspired mauvypink/cream color striped cotton top. It is made based on New Look pattern 6150, view E. This one was also quite easy even though trying to match the stripes both in cutting and sewing took some extra time. As you can see the stripes match almost perfectly in the center back seam and the sleeves. However, the side seams were a bit harder to match. I did initially hand baste the side seams to match the stripes, but because I ended up having to move the side seam almost 5 cm inward – making several incremental changes and then trying on for fit – Β the stripes got misaligned in the process. Well, well.

2013-04-211And here is a picture of me wearing the top.

DSCN1066The fabric is a soft ribbed cotton jersey. Nice, but with the disadvantage of having a tendency to stretch out. I like the boat neckline and the ruched sleeves , which have an elastic along the ruching. It’s a great basic pattern and I probably use it again, in one or two sized smaller and with three-quarter length sleeves. One red and white and one in blue and white stripes would be great for spring and summer here in Sweden.

I promise to be better att posting here on the blog. Coming up are posts on my new dress form, a progress post on my skirt suite project and a show and tell about pattern and fabric purchases I’ve made recently.

Happy sewing everyone!

Annika