Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

My sewing pattern collection was starting to take over my apartment. I have a small one bedroom apartment and any clutter make it look like a big mess. This is how my pattern collection looked earlier today.

DSCN1093

To help me get organized I bought two carbon boxes from the store Granit.  Granit have storage boxes of many sizes and styles to choose from but I chose these ones as they will accommodate even the largest patterns I have. These boxes cost 99 SEK each and measure 23x30x27 cm, allow me to store even the larger Vogue patterns standing. Apart from using them in sewing I view my patterns as collectables that inspire and tell a story and I want to take care of them as well as I can. For this purpose I found some plastic covers to store the pattern envelopes in. However the store closest to me only had one pack of 5 plastic covers left, so I have to find some more at a later stage. 

DSCN1095This also gave me an occasion to make an inventory of all the patterns I have collected so far. To date I have 64 patterns. WOW! And I have another 3 coming in. Here they all are divided by brand.

DSCN1105

Vogue Patterns – in the regulare size envelopes (measures 14,5×21,5 cm)

Vogue Patterns - in the larger size envelopes (measures 20x25cm) Here I used the plastic covers which fits perfectly.

Vogue Patterns – in the larger size envelopes (20 x 25cm) Here I used the plastic covers which fits perfectly.

Butterick (measures 14,5x21,5 cm)

Butterick (14,5 x 21,5 cm). I particularly like the Lifestyle Wardrobe patterns on the top)

McCall's (measures 16,5x21 cm)

McCall’s (16,5 x 21 cm)

New Look (measures 15x22 cm)

New Look (15 x 22 cm)

Simplicity (15 x 22 cm)

Simplicity (15 x 22 cm)

Silhouettes' patters (16,5 x 21,5 cm)

Silhouettes’ patters (16,5 x 21,5 cm)

One Kwik Sew (16,5 x 21,5 cm) and one The Sewing Workshop (16,5 x 21,5 cm). Both part of Craftsy.com online sewing classes.

One Kwik Sew (16,5 x 21,5 cm) and one The Sewing Workshop (16,5 x 21,5 cm). Both part of Craftsy.com online sewing classes.

My old STIL/Neue Mode patterns (13,5 x 21 cm)

My old STIL/Neue Mode patterns (13,5 x 21 cm)

And here is the final result after having gotten the patterns organized by brand. As you can see, still some room to grow the collection.

DSCN1153The two boxes will be stacked on top of each other next to my white cabinet in my living room. There is also room for a third on top if needed.😉

DSCN1140I would love to hear how other sewers out there store and organize their patterns. Specifically if you live small like I do.

/Annika